Picknic’s menus address the ingredients and the cross-contact risk for a menu item. We only list information we receive directly from the restaurant, and we audit and review all information from our partner restaurants. See more about how we get our data here.

Ingredient Ratings

Ingredients match your needs (without modification).

Circle icons to indicate that ingredients match someones food allergies and dietary restrictions such as gluten-free, vegetarian, vegan, plant-based, etc.

    • Menu items with a circle icon (of any color) contain only ingredients that match the relevant category on the menu (e.g. dairy-free, vegetarian). Ingredients are the items that are intentionally included in a recipe. For example, beef is an ingredient in the recipe for a hamburger. Cheese is an ingredient in the recipe for a cheeseburger.
    • In some cases, a modification may be required so that the ingredients match your needs. These will be indicated with an underline (“__”) as explained below.
    • Picknic only displays items as modifiable if the restaurant has explicitly indicated that the item can be modified. For example, removing the cheese from a cheeseburger may make it dairy-free, but Picknic doesn’t list this an an option unless the restaurant has explicitly said so.

Ingredients do not match your needs.

    • Menu items with this icon contain ingredients that do not match the category (e.g. Gluten-Free, Vegetarian) of the menu. For example, an item that contains dairy will have this icon in the “Dairy-Free” column. In these cases, the restaurant hasn’t indicated a modification to remove those ingredients from the item.

Cross-contact ratings.

Low Risk

Green items have a low risk of cross-contact which is important for those with food allergies and celiac disease.

    • Menu items with this icon can be prepared using best practices to avoid cross-contact.
    • For example, frying gluten-free fries in a gluten-free fryer is a best practice for avoiding cross-contact.
    • Though no restaurant can guarantee the absence of cross-contact, menu items with this icon will have a low risk of cross-contact.
    • In some cases modifications will be required so that your meal is prepared with best practices to avoid cross-contact. These will be indicated with an underline (“_”) as explained below.

Medium/Unknown Risk

Orange items have an unknown risk of cross-contact which is important for those with food allergies and celiac disease.

    • Menu items with this icon have an unknown or indeterminate risk of cross-contact.
    • In some cases this is because the cooking process is unknown to us (typically with restaurants that have not partnered with us).
    • In other cases, we know the cooking process, but it is impossible to determine the risk of cross-contact.
    • For example, if a dairy-free item such as fish is baked in an oven that is also used to bake mac and cheese, there is a possibility of the mac and cheese dripping onto the fish. There may or may not be dairy cross-contact on the fish depending on whether the items are cooked at the same time and whether the mac and cheese is baked above the fish.
    • Another common example is when ingredients for an item are pulled from a shared line. If lettuce has been pulled with the same gloved hands that have been used to pull croutons, there may or may not be gluten cross-contact on the lettuce.
    • In all of these cases, we try to include notes so that you can decide for yourself if you are comfortable with the cross-contact risk.

High Risk

Red items have a high risk of cross-contact which is important for those with food allergies and celiac disease.

    • Menu items with this icon have a known source of cross-contact during preparation of cooking.
    • For example, french fries that are fried in the same fryer as chicken fingers (containing wheat) will have cross-contact with gluten/wheat. They will also have cross-contact with meat, which will be displayed in the vegetarian and vegan categories.

Other Details

Item requires modifications (underlined).

Item may require modifications to meet your food allergy or gluten-free, vegetarian, vegan, or plant-based needs.

    • Menu items with an underlined icon need to be modified to meet the ingredient and cross-contact status that is displayed.
    • Ingredient modifications include removing or substituting ingredients. Picknic only lists items as modifiable when the restaurant has explicitly said so. When possible, these modifications are explained in the notes for the item. For example, hamburger might be egg-free when made without mayonnaise.
    • Cross-contact modifications include any alteration to the cooking process to apply best practices for avoiding cross-contact. These modifications are only listed if the restaurant has indicated that they are willing to make them.
    • Cross-contact modifications may include grilling on foil, getting new ingredients from unopened stores instead of from the standard prep line, cooking in a clean pan, etc.

Information not available.

Circle icons to indicate that ingredients match someones food allergies and dietary restrictions such as gluten-free, vegetarian, vegan, plant-based, etc.

    • Menu items that are blank (i.e. have no icon) have no information available for the corresponding menu category (e.g. Peanut-Free, Tree Nut-Free). In some cases, the status of an item may be inferred by the item name (e.g. a “Fish Sandwich” is typically not “Fish-Free”), but Picknic only lists information explicitly indicated by the restaurant.
    • In some rare cases, if we find a discrepancy on a restaurant’s allergen menu (e.g. an item listed as gluten-free that is also listed as containing wheat ), we will leave the field(s) in question blank.